My wife and I losing weight, exercising and getting fit

I think it has literally been years since I have done any type of exercise. For me it has been the same routine, go to work, come home, watch TV, hang out on the computer, etc., etc. Wake up and do it all again. About 8-10 months ago my wife made the decision to try to lose some weight. She joined a program at a local doctor’s office and would go there to work out and also get information about what to buy and eat that was low carb. She started to have some good results and I could see the difference in her. She was looking better and obviously feeling better.

Seeing what she was achieving I decided to make a change myself. Rather then follow in her footsteps in going the route through the doctor’s office, I decided to try things on my own. In the beginning I made a push to start doing the weekly grocery shopping. I took a couple of hours going through the entire grocery on two separate occasions to see what we were used to buying and what low-calorie alternatives there were. When you actually take the time to look at the calories on food even if it’s stuff you have eaten for years it is surprising in some cases. I purchased mostly fruits and vegetables and low cal things. That turned out to be the key that unlocked the door for me personally. Since that time, about 6 to 7 months ago, I have lost about 65 pounds.

During that time period I did not exercise at all. About a month or so ago I decided to start running. My wife had been exercising for months but she helped me by doing the couch to 5k program with me. For those of you that are wondering it is a big step to go from doing mostly nothing to walking and running. However, we have been running together now for a little over a month and we have moved away from the couch to 5k program and more just running for distance rather than time. We both registered for our first 5k run that will happen at the end of the month. Both of us are extremely excited and at the same time focused. Our goal is to run the entire 3.1 miles, but more than that just finish. We’re hoping we have a really positive experience so we will want to register for more events.

To sum all of this up, my wife and I have found something that we have in common, the desire to lose weight, get in shape and feel better about ourselves. In addition to that we now run 3-4 times per week and have no plans of stopping anytime soon. My wife inspired me to make a change and one of the many rewards was giving us an activity we can take part in together and feel good about. Wish us luck in our quest to finish our first 5k run and look for an update after the race.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My wife and I losing weight, exercising and getting fit

  1. A huge congrats. And keep it up.

    Hope you and your wife have fun with the running, too.

    And thanks for sharing your experiences. I wrote something similar recently about my three-year weight-loss effort: 215-pounds-to-185-pounds

    • mberninger says:

      Sorry for the late reply to your comment. I have commented on your blog. Great job on the running accomplishments by the way. You must be very happy with them. My wife and I have been having a great time with running. It is nice to not only get active and fit, but also have a new hobby/activity to share.

  2. spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Great job! It must feel so rewarding! Keep up the good work 🙂

  3. Marnie says:

    Congrats on finding the road to fitness! I’m an avid runner and have to say it is addictive. Welcome to the running club;).

Leave a Reply

