5 things you can do to eat healthier and lose weight

I’m no expert but I have lost over 60 pounds in the last 6-8 months and so far kept it off. I decided to do it on my own. This is a list of things I incorporated into my daily eating habits. Once you change the way you eat you just get used to it. You would be surprised how some foods I thought I would always like don’t taste as good to me now. Anyway, read the list and try some of them yourself and let me know the results.

1. Make your next trip to the grocery store the kick off to you making a change and eating better foods.
On your next trip go down every aisle and see the normal foods you buy. This time check the labels on everything and choose the lowest calorie version of what you normally buy.

2. If you aren’t already, start eating fresh fruits and vegetables.
Find some you like. If you don’t think you like fruits and vegetables or are being stubborn, pick a couple to try that look the best to you and go from there.

3. Eat in moderation.
When you eat your meals don’t eat the whole bag, the whole box, the whole bowl, etc. Eat a portion you know is enough or should be enough to fill you up without making you feel bloated.

4. No late night eating.
Even if you have to eat a later dinner because of work or whatever, don’t eat again. (This was a tough one for me. I loved to eat several times at night.)

5. Make better choices when you are out at a restaurant.
Pick vegetables for your sides instead of fatty foods. Drink water.

I have incorporated all of these things into my eating habits and have really reaped the rewards by looking and feeling better. I have no doubt that if you try some or all of them you will have positive results. From personal experience remember nothing will magically happen for you until you decide to make a change for the better.

Let me know any ideas that you have for eating healthier and losing weight. I plan to have future posts about specific, everyday foods that I eat as well as exercise. With this post I tried to keep it in more of a general idea format. Good luck!


This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 things you can do to eat healthier and lose weight

  1. Sarah says:

    Very good advice!!

  2. dseavey1 says:

    I did all 5 of those things 2 years ago and I dropped 40lbs. and then I made the mistake of letting up on “the rules”. I slowly earned all those pounds back, to my credit it took a while. At least I know what to do this time. A major point for me is “getting use to it” once you have done that make sure it becomes a life style. I dropped the ball, but I am seriously reading the labels and making the hard choices again. I stopped by because of your invitation on my money saving blog, dseavey1.wordpress.com, (shameless plug) very impressive! Congrats on the lost pounds and a cool blog!

    • mberninger says:

      Thanks. I appreciate the kind words. I hear what you are saying. I have taken the pounds off and put them back on over the years. This time around though I followed these general points and have made it a part of my lifestyle. I plan on staying at my current weight from this point on. We shall see. I enjoyed reading your post on brown bagging lunch. Very good.

Leave a Reply

